An Improved Structures of Modified CUK Converter using VLSI module (MCCVLSI) for High-Voltage Renewable Energy Applications

Frede Blaabjerg

Aalborg University

Frede Blaabjerg (S’86–M’88–SM’97–F’03) was with ABB-Scandia, Randers, Denmark, from 1987 to 1988. From 1988 to 1992, he was a Ph.D. Student with Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark. He became an Assistant Professor in 1992, an Associate Professor in 1996, and a Full Professor of power electronics and drives in 1998. From 2017 he became a Villum Investigator. His current research interests include power electronics and its applications such as in wind turbines, PV systems, reliability, harmonics and adjustable speed drives. He has published more than 450 journal papers in the fields of power electronics and its applications. He is the co-author of two monographs and editor of 6 books in power electronics and its applications. He has received 22 IEEE Prize Paper Awards, the IEEE PELS Distinguished Service Award in 2009, the EPE-PEMC Council Award in 2010, the IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award 2014 and the Villum Kann Rasmussen Research Award 2014. He was the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS from 2006 to 2012. He has been Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Power Electronics Society from 2005 to 2007 and for the IEEE Industry Applications Society from 2010 to 2011 as well as 2017 to 2018. He is nominated from 2014 to 2017 by Thomson Reuters to be between the most 250 cited researchers in Engineering in the world. In 2017 he became Honoris Causa at University Politehnica Timisoara (UPT), Romania.


  1. Kiran Pandav (Marathwada Institute of Technology)
  2. Sanjeevikumar Padmanaban (Aalborg University)
  3. Mahajan Sagar Bhaskar (Qatar University)
  4. Frede Blaabjerg (Aalborg University)
  5. Dan M. Ionel (University of Kentucky)

Topic Area

Track 1 Topics: High efficiency power conversion for sustainable sources


S1 » PV Integration Topologies (10:10 - Tuesday, 26th June, Lakeshore III - IV)