Self-assembled oxide nanocomposite with enhanced thermoelectric power factor and diminished thermal conductivity

Armin Feldhoff

Leibniz University Hannover

Armin Feldhoffis Extraordinary Professor at the Faculty of Natural Sciences of the Leibniz Universität Hannover (Germany).Prof. Feldhoff’s research interests are in thermo-iono-electric (TIE) materials for energy conversion. His activities link materials synthesis with the microstructure, as obtained by scanning and transmission electron microscopy as well as x-ray diffraction, and functionality. Aim is always a knowledge-based approach to bring new functionality into materials and devices. He has published more than 150 papers in peer-reviewed journals. Actually, his h-index is 41 with more than 6,000 citations. He received his diploma in physics from the University of Münster (Germany) and received his PhD degree from the Martin-Luther University Halle-Wittenberg (Germany). He was pre- and post-doctoral researcher at the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics in Halle (Germany). He was postdoctoral associate at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Cornell University in Ithaca (NY, USA) and at the Centre d’Études de Chimie Métallurgique of the CNRS in Vitry sur Seine (France). He is head of the Nanostructure Laboratory at the Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry of the Leibniz Universität Hannover (Germany) and holds the venia legendi for Physical Chemistry. In the German Society for Electron Microscopy, he is serving in the editorial team of Electron Microscopy. He is acting as associate editor of both Energy Harvesting & Systems and the Journal of Electronic Materials.


Sol-gel process was used to produce heavily doped misfit-layered cobaltate Ca3Co4O9 [1], which by subsequent heat treatment in suitable atmosphere self-assembled into 2D nanocomposite as confirmed by high-resolution electron... [ view full abstract ]


  1. Armin Feldhoff (Leibniz University Hannover)
  2. Michael Bittner (Leibniz University Hannover)
  3. Nikola Kanas (NTNU Trondheim)
  4. Frank Steinbach (Leibniz University Hannover)
  5. Dennis Groeneveld (Leibniz University Hannover)
  6. Richard Hinterding (Leibniz University Hannover)
  7. Piotr Wemhoff (Leibniz University Hannover)
  8. Kjell Wiik (Leibniz University Hannover)
  9. Mari-Ann Einarsrud (NTNU Trondheim)

Topic Areas

Energy Conversion , Synthesis , (Micro)structure-property relations , Thermoelectrics


OS-8C » Symposium C - Defects & Functional Oxides (16:10 - Wednesday, 11th July, Panopticum Green Room)

Presentation Files

The presenter has requested not to share their files.

Additional Information

Image 1
Image 2
Image 3